Monasterio de San Pedro de Duenas en Sahagún

Picture courtesy of the Tourist Office of Sahagún



Local council website

Old Church of La Trinidad
Calle del Arco, 87
24320 Sahagun
Tel.: [+34] 987 781 015
Email: and



  • Holy Week: declared of regional tourist interest
  • Pilgrimage of the “Pastor Bono”: in April, farmers and shepherds offer their best products, lemonade and hazelnuts.
  • Pilgrimage of San Marcos: on April 25th, bread and cheese tasting, next to the Hermitage of the Virgen del Puente, to celebrate the arrival of spring.
  • Fair of San Simón or Leek Fair: on October 28th, a fair is held that dates back to the 18th century, offering food products, farm vehicles and machinery. Visitors are invited to taste the traditional merchant’s menu consisting of leek, pickled dishes and wine.
  • Meeting of Jugglers: in July, in memory of the first school of jugglers in Spain, founded in Sahagún in 1116, visitors can watch a ‘medieval wedding’, a coven of witches, a falconry exhibition, a stage play, medieval dinners and a market.
  • San Juan de Sahagún: June 12th.

The first large town on the Way of Saint James in the province of León and the link with the Way of Madrid. Originally called the town of San Facundo, its creation is connected to the discovery in the 9th century of the relics of the San Facundo and San Primitivo. A monastery dedicated to these two saints was established on the site. The name of the locality – Sahagún, is a derivative of “Sant Facund”.


 Alojamientos Restaurantes, bares  Oficina de Turismo  Zona de baño  Parada de autobusesTaxis BodegaPuenteMonasterio, iglesia Monumento  Teléfono público - locutorioServicios públicos - WCCajero automáticoCorreos Farmacia Fuente  Supermercado Merendero 


  • ​​​​​​​Monastery of San Pedro de las Dueñas: 4 km from Sahagún, it was begun in stone in 1087 and finished in brick in 1110. Inside it we find the renowned “capital of the seven nuns”, as well as a statue of Christ by Gregorio Fernández.
  • Grajal de Campos: 5 km from Sahagún, a historical complex declared an Asset of Cultural Interest in 1931. It comprises the Renaissance palace of the Counts of Grajal, the remains of fortified walls that are currently part of the hermitage of the Virgen de las Puertas, a Mozarabic cellar, a 16th century public hospital built in plastered mud, the church of San Miguel Arcángel (16th century), the old Franciscan convent, and the convent of Nuestra Señora de la Antigua.
  • Arenillas de Valderaduey: visitors can admire the splendid altarpiece in the church of Santo Tomás, as well as dovecotes and remains of popular architecture.
  • Joara: north of Sahagún, home to two 16th century paintings as well as a magnificent altarpiece by Cristóbal Colmenares dating from 1641.
  • Galleguillos de Campos: picnic area by the river inviting us to stroll or relax.

Track Terradillos de los Templarios - El Burgo Ranero

track de la etapa de terradillo de los templarios a el burgo ranero